How to Hide Your Embarrassing Pictures and Videos in Google Photos

welcome to TNW Basicsa collection of tips, guides, and advice on how to get the most out of your gadgets, apps, and more.

Photography can be a perilous hobby – just ask Jeff Bezos.

The kingpin of Amazon had to tell the world on his “selfies below the belt” to avoid an alleged blackmail by the National Enquirer.

While you might not have beef with a sleazy tabloid or a love of dick pics, chances are you have sensitive pics yourself.

Maybe you have an embarrassing photo with a former partner. Or maybe, like me, you’ve been caught on camera making huge charitable donations – and you don’t want your selfless philanthropy exposed to the press.

Of course, you can reduce these dangers by deleting snapshots, but some embarrassing photos are too valuable to delete. Luckily, there are ways to reduce the risk while keeping the photos for your perverted enjoyment.

One of the most useful methods is provided by Google Photos. If you’re one of the more than a billion people who have used the service, you can keep your snaps safe from prying eyes by using the Locked Folder feature.

Items in your locked folder are hidden in the Photos grid, Memories, Search, and Albums. They are also invisible to other apps on your device that have access to your images and videos.

Here’s how to use the feature.

1. Set up locked folder

If you want to use the feature, you must first configure it.

  • Open the Google Photos app on your device. You will need Android 6 or later to use the feature.
  • Go to Library > Utilities > Folder locked.
  • Click on Configure locked folder.
  • Follow the instructions to unlock your device. If you haven’t set up a screen lock for
  • your device, you will need to set one up by by following these steps.

2. Move your content to your locked folder

  • Open Google Photos and select the photos and videos you want to put in your locked folder. If you also want to move items from the Trash to a locked folder, you must first restore the contents of the Trash.
  • Tap the hamburger button (⋮) at the top right of the window.
  • Click on Move to locked folder. Note that cloud saves of this content will be deleted.
  • Faucet Move.

If you have a Pixel 3 or later device, you can also save content to the locked folder directly from your Pixel camera. Follow these steps to do so:

  • Open your Pixel camera app.
  • At the top right of the window, tap Photo Gallery > Locked Folder.
  • To take a picture. The shameful moment will be automatically saved in the locked folder.

That’s it! All your embarrassing photos can now be safely contained in your locked folder. But please don’t blame us if they still result in a breakup, arrest or sinister tabloid scandal.

About Bernard Kraft

Check Also

Santa Monica Police Activities League Raises Over $18,000 in Spooktacular Halloween Event

Fundraiser offers free classes and enrichment activities to vulnerable youth in Santa Monica The Santa …